MOUNT RAINIER
GEOLOGY & WEATHER
Hello guest! [ Log In ]
Largest Earthquakes at MORA

Largest Earthquakes at Mount Rainier since 2000
All earthquakes since 2000 with Magnitude >= 2.5
Earthquake data from the Pacific Northwest Seismic Network (PNSN).



MORE INFO PNSN INFO GMT Date/Time Local Date/Time How Long Ago Distance/Direction from Summit Nearest Park Location Magnitude Depth (km) Depth (mi)
More Info 10496228 2000-04-22, 06:43:26 GMT Friday, April 21, 2000, 23:43:26 PDT 23 years 362 days 8 hours 16 minutes 51 seconds ago 16.460 (10.228) to the W 1.257 km (0.781 mi) S of Deer Creek 3.6 6.7 4.2
More Info 10516908 2000-11-18, 09:18:25 GMT Saturday, November 18, 2000, 01:18:25 PST 23 years 152 days 5 hours 41 minutes 52 seconds ago 19.550 (12.148) to the SE 0.317 km (0.197 mi) WSW of Ohanapecosh Campground 2.5 2.2 1.4
More Info 10546273 2001-06-30, 01:23:32 GMT Friday, June 29, 2001, 18:23:32 PDT 22 years 293 days 13 hours 36 minutes 45 seconds ago 16.200 (10.066) to the W 1.243 km (0.773 mi) NNW of Big Creek 3.3 6.2 3.9
More Info 10551613 2002-02-19, 18:07:21 GMT Tuesday, February 19, 2002, 10:07:21 PST 22 years 58 days 20 hours 52 minutes 56 seconds ago 1.758 (1.092) to the N 0.314 km (0.195 mi) SSW of Avalanche Camp 2.5 -0.7 -0.4
More Info 10551683 2002-02-19, 18:42:29 GMT Tuesday, February 19, 2002, 10:42:29 PST 22 years 58 days 20 hours 17 minutes 48 seconds ago 0.853 (0.530) to the NE 0.864 km (0.537 mi) NNE of East Crater 3.2 -2.1 -1.3
More Info 10580898 2002-11-22, 04:14:55 GMT Thursday, November 21, 2002, 20:14:55 PST 21 years 148 days 10 hours 45 minutes 22 seconds ago 16.688 (10.370) to the NW 0.622 km (0.386 mi) NNW of August Peak 2.8 7.3 4.5
More Info 10621493 2004-11-07, 19:24:00 GMT Sunday, November 07, 2004, 11:24:00 PST 19 years 161 days 19 hours 36 minutes 17 seconds ago 1.080 (0.671) to the SSE 0.664 km (0.413 mi) N of Wilson Headwall 3.2 -0.3 -0.2
More Info 10704773 2006-07-30, 20:14:16 GMT Sunday, July 30, 2006, 13:14:16 PDT 17 years 261 days 18 hours 46 minutes 1 seconds ago 17.882 (11.111) to the WNW 1.236 km (0.768 mi) W of Grindstone 2.8 9.4 5.8
More Info 10705503 2006-07-31, 18:38:19 GMT Monday, July 31, 2006, 11:38:19 PDT 17 years 260 days 20 hours 21 minutes 58 seconds ago 18.075 (11.231) to the WNW 2.013 km (1.251 mi) WSW of Grindstone 2.6 7.6 4.7
More Info 10695293 2006-08-01, 17:21:54 GMT Tuesday, August 01, 2006, 10:21:54 PDT 17 years 259 days 21 hours 38 minutes 23 seconds ago 18.511 (11.502) to the WNW 1.900 km (1.181 mi) W of Grindstone 2.5 10.9 6.8
More Info 10696038 2006-08-03, 10:27:30 GMT Thursday, August 03, 2006, 03:27:30 PDT 17 years 258 days 4 hours 32 minutes 47 seconds ago 12.088 (7.511) to the W 2.412 km (1.499 mi) N of Klapatche Point 2.9 9.4 5.8
More Info 10701498 2006-10-08, 02:48:27 GMT Saturday, October 07, 2006, 19:48:27 PDT 17 years 192 days 12 hours 11 minutes 50 seconds ago 12.143 (7.545) to the E 0.673 km (0.418 mi) E of Cowlitz Chimneys 4.5 1.6 1.0
More Info 10701863 2006-10-08, 02:54:11 GMT Saturday, October 07, 2006, 19:54:11 PDT 17 years 192 days 12 hours 6 minutes 6 seconds ago 12.081 (7.507) to the E 0.617 km (0.383 mi) E of Cowlitz Chimneys 2.5 3.1 1.9
More Info 10702058 2006-10-08, 03:07:51 GMT Saturday, October 07, 2006, 20:07:51 PDT 17 years 192 days 11 hours 52 minutes 26 seconds ago 12.929 (8.034) to the E 1.295 km (0.805 mi) SW of Barrier Peak 2.8 3.3 2.1
More Info 10706658 2006-10-14, 14:10:02 GMT Saturday, October 14, 2006, 07:10:02 PDT 17 years 186 days 50 minutes 15 seconds ago 13.188 (8.195) to the E 1.447 km (0.899 mi) SSW of Barrier Peak 2.6 4.1 2.5
More Info 10706758 2006-10-14, 15:30:48 GMT Saturday, October 14, 2006, 08:30:48 PDT 17 years 185 days 23 hours 29 minutes 29 seconds ago 12.627 (7.846) to the E 1.166 km (0.725 mi) E of Cowlitz Chimneys 2.7 3.1 1.9
More Info 10704153 2006-11-15, 05:48:13 GMT Tuesday, November 14, 2006, 21:48:13 PST 17 years 154 days 9 hours 12 minutes 4 seconds ago 16.725 (10.392) to the W 1.483 km (0.922 mi) NW of Big Creek 2.6 5.3 3.3
More Info 10713073 2007-02-07, 20:55:24 GMT Wednesday, February 07, 2007, 12:55:24 PST 17 years 69 days 18 hours 4 minutes 53 seconds ago 15.098 (9.381) to the WNW 2.427 km (1.508 mi) SSW of Meadow Creek 2.5 4.3 2.7
More Info 10718053 2007-03-25, 01:43:37 GMT Saturday, March 24, 2007, 18:43:37 PDT 17 years 24 days 13 hours 16 minutes 40 seconds ago 1.521 (0.945) to the NE 1.061 km (0.659 mi) SSE of Avalanche Camp 2.7 -1.8 -1.1
More Info 10712528 2007-06-10, 06:08:46 GMT Saturday, June 09, 2007, 23:08:46 PDT 16 years 312 days 8 hours 51 minutes 31 seconds ago 14.611 (9.079) to the WNW 2.507 km (1.558 mi) N of North Puyallup River 2.6 8.0 5.0
More Info 10730783 2007-11-26, 10:43:01 GMT Monday, November 26, 2007, 02:43:01 PST 16 years 143 days 4 hours 17 minutes 16 seconds ago 13.376 (8.311) to the WSW 0.152 km (0.094 mi) WSW of Kenworthy Lake 2.5 8.7 5.4
More Info 10739113 2008-04-02, 01:42:48 GMT Tuesday, April 01, 2008, 18:42:48 PDT 16 years 15 days 13 hours 17 minutes 29 seconds ago 13.746 (8.542) to the W 0.654 km (0.406 mi) SSE of Puyallup Point 2.5 5.3 3.3
More Info 10753218 2008-08-23, 21:05:57 GMT Saturday, August 23, 2008, 14:05:57 PDT 15 years 236 days 17 hours 54 minutes 20 seconds ago 20.450 (12.707) to the W 3.819 km (2.373 mi) S of Mowich River 2.6 6.3 3.9
More Info 10753663 2008-09-28, 18:31:32 GMT Sunday, September 28, 2008, 11:31:32 PDT 15 years 200 days 20 hours 28 minutes 45 seconds ago 16.620 (10.327) to the NW 0.339 km (0.211 mi) SE of Poch Peak 2.6 5.6 3.5
More Info 10778233 2009-05-22, 16:42:41 GMT Friday, May 22, 2009, 09:42:41 PDT 14 years 329 days 22 hours 17 minutes 36 seconds ago 19.244 (11.957) to the WNW 2.713 km (1.686 mi) W of Grindstone 2.8 9.5 5.9
More Info 10784368 2009-09-20, 16:45:28 GMT Sunday, September 20, 2009, 09:45:28 PDT 14 years 208 days 22 hours 14 minutes 49 seconds ago 1.126 (0.700) to the NE 1.103 km (0.686 mi) NE of East Crater 2.5 0.1 0.1
More Info 10803208 2010-05-15, 18:03:12 GMT Saturday, May 15, 2010, 11:03:12 PDT 13 years 336 days 20 hours 57 minutes 5 seconds ago 14.063 (8.738) to the WSW 0.439 km (0.273 mi) N of Glacier View Wilderness 2.5 4.2 2.6
More Info 10810353 2010-09-23, 18:40:22 GMT Thursday, September 23, 2010, 11:40:22 PDT 13 years 205 days 20 hours 19 minutes 55 seconds ago 11.077 (6.883) to the W 1.986 km (1.234 mi) SW of Sunset Park 2.5 9.2 5.7
More Info 10811698 2011-04-06, 17:45:01 GMT Wednesday, April 06, 2011, 10:45:01 PDT 13 years 10 days 21 hours 15 minutes 16 seconds ago 17.597 (10.935) to the SSE 3.422 km (2.126 mi) SSE of Blue Lake 3.4 5.3 3.3
More Info 10830238 2011-10-14, 22:25:16 GMT Friday, October 14, 2011, 15:25:16 PDT 12 years 184 days 16 hours 35 minutes 1 seconds ago 16.197 (10.064) to the SW 1.653 km (1.027 mi) N of Nisqually Entrance Ranger Station 3.4 9.9 6.2
More Info 10830463 2011-10-14, 23:29:13 GMT Friday, October 14, 2011, 16:29:13 PDT 12 years 184 days 15 hours 31 minutes 4 seconds ago 0.447 (0.278) to the ENE 0.384 km (0.238 mi) NE of East Crater 2.6 -0.8 -0.5
More Info 60404201 2012-03-22, 10:01:07 GMT Thursday, March 22, 2012, 03:01:07 PDT 12 years 25 days 4 hours 59 minutes 10 seconds ago 11.722 (7.284) to the WSW 1.386 km (0.861 mi) S of Denman Falls 2.5 3.9 2.4
More Info 60950382 2015-01-26, 02:36:36 GMT Sunday, January 25, 2015, 18:36:36 PST 9 years 80 days 12 hours 23 minutes 41 seconds ago 12.125 (7.534) to the W 0.275 km (0.171 mi) NNW of Ethania Falls 2.5 7.1 4.4
More Info 61281132 2017-07-11, 10:30:30 GMT Tuesday, July 11, 2017, 03:30:30 PDT 6 years 278 days 4 hours 29 minutes 47 seconds ago 9.232 (5.736) to the ENE 1.099 km (0.683 mi) ENE of Goat Island Mountain 2.8 5.5 3.4
More Info 61362202 2018-04-12, 06:39:59 GMT Wednesday, April 11, 2018, 23:39:59 PDT 6 years 3 days 8 hours 20 minutes 18 seconds ago 18.165 (11.287) to the WNW 1.502 km (0.933 mi) W of Grindstone 3.0 12.0 7.5
More Info 61410081 2018-07-18, 17:54:19 GMT Wednesday, July 18, 2018, 10:54:19 PDT 5 years 270 days 21 hours 5 minutes 58 seconds ago 17.702 (11.000) to the WNW 2.861 km (1.778 mi) ENE of Rushingwater Creek 2.5 12.5 7.8
More Info 61561891 2019-11-29, 07:44:12 GMT Thursday, November 28, 2019, 23:44:12 PST 4 years 137 days 7 hours 16 minutes 5 seconds ago 1.115 (0.693) to the SSE 0.614 km (0.382 mi) N of Wilson Headwall 2.6 -2.1 -1.3
More Info 61569557 2020-01-28, 08:17:59 GMT Tuesday, January 28, 2020, 00:17:59 PST 4 years 77 days 6 hours 42 minutes 18 seconds ago 15.495 (9.628) to the WNW 1.138 km (0.707 mi) NNE of Swift Creek 2.6 6.3 3.9
More Info 61597087 2020-04-12, 13:46:03 GMT Sunday, April 12, 2020, 06:46:03 PDT 4 years 2 days 1 hour 14 minutes 14 seconds ago 15.283 (9.496) to the SW 1.831 km (1.137 mi) SSW of Mount Wow 3.0 3.1 1.9
More Info 61659592 2020-08-16, 05:38:58 GMT Saturday, August 15, 2020, 22:38:58 PDT 3 years 241 days 9 hours 21 minutes 19 seconds ago 0.616 (0.383) to the ENE 0.545 km (0.339 mi) NE of East Crater 2.5 0.6 0.4
More Info 61699007 2021-01-15, 10:06:50 GMT Friday, January 15, 2021, 02:06:50 PST 3 years 89 days 4 hours 53 minutes 27 seconds ago 15.714 (9.764) to the WNW 0.619 km (0.385 mi) WSW of Meadow Creek 2.9 12.3 7.6
More Info 61704342 2021-02-18, 03:13:52 GMT Wednesday, February 17, 2021, 19:13:52 PST 3 years 55 days 11 hours 46 minutes 25 seconds ago 0.655 (0.407) to the S 0.616 km (0.382 mi) S of West Crater 2.5 0.6 0.4
More Info 61786052 2021-11-04, 08:29:26 GMT Thursday, November 04, 2021, 01:29:26 PDT 2 years 161 days 6 hours 30 minutes 51 seconds ago 27.966 (17.377) to the WSW 1.864 km (1.158 mi) N of Columbia Crest Elementary School 3.1 15.3 9.5
More Info 61943417 2023-08-22, 23:44:12 GMT Tuesday, August 22, 2023, 16:44:12 PDT 234 days 15 hours 16 minutes 5 seconds ago 9.716 (6.037) to the W 1.650 km (1.025 mi) S of Sunset Park 2.7 7.7 4.8
More Info 61953701 2023-08-27, 10:10:23 GMT Sunday, August 27, 2023, 03:10:23 PDT 230 days 4 hours 49 minutes 54 seconds ago 17.725 (11.014) to the WSW 1.506 km (0.936 mi) N of Copper Creek 2.9 9.7 6.0
More Info 61978931 2024-01-05, 06:02:35 GMT Thursday, January 04, 2024, 22:02:35 PST 99 days 8 hours 57 minutes 42 seconds ago 17.642 (10.962) to the W 2.028 km (1.260 mi) WNW of Big Creek 2.8 6.7 4.2
More Info 61979346 2024-01-09, 15:17:18 GMT Tuesday, January 09, 2024, 07:17:18 PST 94 days 23 hours 42 minutes 59 seconds ago 12.667 (7.871) to the W 2.072 km (1.287 mi) NNW of Klapatche Point 2.9 6.6 4.1
More Info 61982146 2024-02-07, 19:11:29 GMT Wednesday, February 07, 2024, 11:11:29 PST 65 days 19 hours 48 minutes 48 seconds ago 21.277 (13.221) to the ESE 1.824 km (1.134 mi) N of Boundary Trail 3.0 4.2 2.6

Earthquake data from the Pacific Northwest Seismic Network (PNSN).